Column to National Heroes

Columna de los Próceres


The Spanish artist Agustin Querol designed the monument. The inauguration took place during a solemn public act that commemorated the date of October 9 of 1820 as the crowning work of the celebration for the commemoration of the 100 years of Guayaquil’s independence.

The history of the monument dates back to the year of 1821, a year after the independence deed, when the Governing Board of the Free State of Guayaquil came up with the idea of its construction in order to immortalize the independence of the then Free Province of Guayaquil.

159 stones arrived to Guayaquil in the late years of 1914 from Barcelona, with a total weigh of 523.000 kilograms that corresponded to the granite and rose marble base and also to the capital of white marble; the pieces were disembarked at the Municipal Sanitation dock.

On October 9, 1918, with the presence of President Alfredo Baquerizo Moreno, who gave the initial impulse to the project as Trustee of the Council, the pre-inauguration was carried out. Finally, on October 9 of 1920, a historic date for Guayaquil, a century after the independence deed, the President of the Country, Jose Luis Tamayo, officially inaugurated the Square with its column, monuments and statuary.

The monument is a project of Spanish artist Agustin Querol, who died in 1909, a year after the works started. Querol only casted the allegoric statue of the History, the remaining statues was casted by his disciple, Catalan Sculptor Jose Monserrat, following the model of his master.



The monument reaches 27 meters in height, has a weight of 22.5 tons and cost half million sucres.

The column is formed by 3 elements:

1)    A granite base that has four figures depicting the four points of compass represented by historic characters of the independence deed: Jose Joaquin de Olmedo, Leon de Febres Cordero, Jose de Villamil and Jose de Antepara. Between the angles, four other figures can be observed that form a second cross made up of the three feminine allegories of time (past, present and future) and one masculine allegory, which depict space.

2)    The shaft that is engraved with the names of the patriots that participated in the independence deed and the Declaration of Independence, and also and allegory representing a town that rises towards independence.

3)    The capital, which has the beautiful image of a young woman holding the flame of liberty.

The monument also has eight medallions representing the effigies of the following patriots: Miguel de Letamendi, Gregorio Escobedo, Juan Francisco Elizalde, Francisco Maria Roca, Francisco de Paula Lavayen and Rafael Maria de la Cruz Jimena, important protagonists of the independence process.

At the base of the column, four bas-reliefs are presented, in which, various relevant moments of the history of independence can be appreciated: the Governing Board of Guayaquil, the Battle of Huachi, the Crowning of the Patriots and the Schooner Alcance, the war vessel that was used to announce to America that Guayaquil had been liberated. There are also two acknowledgement plaques awarded to the author and to the Pro Monument Committee with the names of the members.


Boulevard 9 de Octubre and Lorenzo de Garaycoa Avenue, Centenary Square