Torre Morisca (Moorish Tower/Clock Tower) (Heritage)

Torre Morisca “Torre del Reloj” (Patrimonial)


Its history dates back to the XVIII century with several constructions in different locations. The first Public Clock goes back to 1800 when Santiago Espantoso bought the house of Temporality. In 1842 the Governor of Guayaquil, Vicente Rocafuerte, brought the Public Clock from Europe and gave it to the city, which now rests on the top of the Moorish Tower. Initially, it was placed at the top of the Colonial City Hall, however it was moved to the Orilla Market Tower. When this disappeared, a special tower was built in the same area and the clock remained there until 1925, when it was removed since the construction was not safe. In 1930, the City began the construction of the Moorish Tower whose work started on August 1, 1930. It was inaugurated on May 24, 1931.
After several years without operating due to various damages, on June 7, 2013, Guayaquil regained this urban jewel. The London clock started to mark the hours again and the bronze bell began to ring every hour. 


The Tower was built by engineer Francisco Ramon and architect Joaquin Perez Nin y Landin. Afterwards architect Juan Orus modified it, and artist Emilio Soro carried out the building’s ornamentation. The Tower is a work of reinforced concrete that rises up four floors from an octagonal base of approximately 28 square meters that ends in an Arabic Byzantine dome that reaches a height of 23 meters. Regarding the style of this building, unique in the city, it is worth noting that it belongs to the contemporary period characterized by the constructions of the Italian architects of the early twentieth century. 

Malecon Simon Bolivar Avenue, near 10 de Agosto Street, city’s downtown.
Lunes a viernes: 09h30 a 17h00.