Building of the University of Guayaquil (Heritage)


The first building of the University of Guayaquil was made of wood and dates back to the year of 1898 when Alejandro Lascano Bahamonde was the principal of the University. The construction only lasted four years since I was destroyed by the Carmen fire of July 17, 1902. The following year, during the administration of Julian Coronel, the reconstruction of the building started, which lasted three years. Italian architect Rocco Queirolo Pinasco who finished the work in 1906 designed it. It was declared Cultural Heritage of the Country on February 26, 1998.


Its historicist architecture with the neoclassic and renaissance style from the time of the Republic. The main façade has an access framed by columns, and the side facades have large rectangular windows and semicircular arches. There are three busts in the entrance hall. One of them represents Pedro Carbo Noboa, and it was made of fiberglass by sculptor Theo Constante Parra. The other figures depict Alejo Lascano and Julian Coronel, former principals of the University, which were crafted by Italian sculptor Enrico Pacciani.
The assembly hall has a mural painted by Ecuadorian artist Oswaldo Guayasamin entitled “A la Gloria de Bolivar” (to Bolivar’s Glory) and a work of Theo Constante and Ivan Paredes painted in the ceiling with an acrylic technique, which shows a torch coming out the center of a book. Another attractions: the archeological museum that has old photographs and documents, the ceiling depicting Minerva, goddess of wisdom.

Avenue Chile and Chiriboga Street.
Photo gallery: 
Building of the University of Guayaquil  (Dirección de Prensa, Municipio de Guayaquil).
Building of the University of Guayaquil (Parsival Castro).
Building of the University of Guayaquil  (Dirección de Prensa, Municipio de Guayaquil).